TR to contest the February elections at Producers’ Council

trajendr latest
trajendr latest

Multi-faceted T. Rajendhar has announced his decision to contest for the of president of the Tamil Film Producers’ Council (TFPC) when the polls are held in February.

TFPC elections are held once in two years. During the polls held in January, 2015, the team led by ‘Kalaipuli’ S. Thanu won the polls. While Thanu took over as the Council’s president, T. Siva and Radhakrishnan became general secretaries. Kathireasn and Thenappan are the incumbent vice-president while Thiagarajan (of Satyajyothi Films) is the treasurer.

Now that the tenure of the present team expires in February next year, the Council announced some days back that elections to elect new set of office-bearers would be held on 05th February for which filing of nominations would take place from 08-12 January with 13th being the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

Three teams are in the fray: one team is led by T. Rajendhar and comprises A.M. Rathnam and A.L. Azhagappan (for vice-presidents), Kayaar and Kathiresan (for general secretaries) and S.Ve. Shekhar or Kameela Nassar (as treasurer). Other team comprises T. Siva and UTV’s Dhananjayan.

The third team comprises Radhakrishnan (for president), Mannan and Sivasakthi Pandian (as general secretaries) and actress Devayani (as treasurer). In all, three teams comprising 63 candidates would be vying for the general council which has 21 members. The final list of candidates would be out in a day or two.